News Home » African News including Nigeria » BREAKING: Bauchi gov elected PDP Governors' Forum chairman

BREAKING: Bauchi gov elected PDP Governors' Forum chairman

Ms Ebuka Chukwu 0 Jun 3
Bauchi gov

Bauchi governor, Bala Mohammed

The Peoples Democratic Party has elected Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, as Chairman of its Governors’ Forum.

Adamawa State Governor, Umaru Fintiri, announced this at the end of a closed-door meeting of the governors, held at the office of the Bauchi State Governor on Saturday.

The PUNCH had reported that the PDP governors, the National Working Committee members, and stakeholders gathered at the Banquet Hall of the Bauchi State Government House for a retreat for elected officials.

Immediately after the opening ceremony of the retreat was held, they went into closed-door meetings of the various caucuses of the party.

Making the announcement, Fintiri said that Mohammed is replacing the Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, adding that Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, was elected Vice Chairman of the forum.

He said the Bauchi State governor was elected based on his competence and capability to steer the forum to greater heights.

In response, the new chairman of the PDP governor’s forum promised to work hand in hand with colleagues for the development of the party.

Mohammed, who said his emergence was a mark of honour to him and the entire people of Bauchi State, urged his colleagues to support him to move the forum and the PDP forward.

Some of the dignitaries present at the retreat are Governors of Adamawa – Umaru Fintiri; Bayelsa – Duoye Diri; Bauchi – Bala Mohammed; Delta – Sheriff Oborevwori; Osun – Ademola Adeleke; Oyo – Seyi Makinde; Rivers – Siminalayi Fubara; Plateau – Caleb Mutfwang; Taraba – Agbu Kefas; Zamafara – Dauda Dare and Edo – Godwin Obaseki (was represented by his deputy, Philip Shuaibu).

Others are the Presidential Candidate of the PDP, Atiku Abubakar; the National Working Committee of the party led by the Acting National Chairman, Umar Damagum; the Chairman, Board of Trustees, Adolphus Wabara; former PDP National Chairman, Ahmed Makarfi; former Board of Trustees Chairman, Walid Jibril; former Niger State, Babangida Aliyu; former Chairman, Nigeria Governors’ Forum, Aminu Tambuwal; Kogi State Governorship Candidate, Dino Melaye.

Also, serving senators and House of Representatives and Senators and House of Representatives-elect; the Chairman of the Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria who’s also the Speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly, Abubakar Suleiman; among others were all in attendance.